Cabo on my mind

With the nice weather that has come our way, I can’t help but think of my most recent vacation to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. During Thanksgiving break my mother and I took a vacation here and stayed at Riu Palace, which is an all-inclusive resort right on the beach. With endless opportunities for activities, all the food you could ever want, and some of the most delicious drinks you could ask for, this trip was one of the best ones my mom and I have been on.

My mom and I at Misaki Japanese restaurant in Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas.

When we first arrived at our resort, we were greeted with fresh squeezed watermelon juice; it was amazing! The entire lobby is an outdoor covered area that truly makes you feel as if you have just walked into paradise. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, and everyone there always gave you a warm smile. With everything being open in the resort, you always had a view of the beach. When we were walking to our room, we were in awe by our surroundings and the way the resort was set up. We immediately got to our rooms, changed into our bathing suits, and head to the pools/beach with a drink in our hand.

 Pictures of the pool areas and beach in Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas.

Our first day there was a relaxing one, and we just hung out by the pool and drank our delicious drinks. Earlier that day we made reservations to their Mexican restaurant, San Jose, they had on the property and ate dinner there. We got there early so we could be seated right next to the beach. Our table was up on a deck, and we were so close to the ocean that you could hear the waves hitting the shore while enjoying your all-inclusive dinner and margaritas (which were AMAZING!).

The next day we woke up and headed to their breakfast buffet, which in my opinion was my favorite food during the trip. They had endless amounts of fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruits, meats and cheeses, and an omelette bar, which I took advantage of! After eating breakfast we headed back to our room  and changed into our bathing suits. On this day we hung out by the pool again, walked around the resort, and took a stroll on the beach. For our dinner the second night we went to Misaki Japanese restaurant. Although it was amazing, I do have to admit that it wasn’t my favorite meal or the best sushi I’ve ever had, but the atmosphere is what made it so great! We sat under an open rooftop with a garden area in the middle with a pond. After dinner we walked around and observed the night-life they had to offer, which included music and entertainment. We decided to call it a night shortly after since the next day was a big day for us.

Besides the last day, this day had to have been my favorite because we got to swim with the dolphins. While I was excited, I was also extremely nervous at the same time. The last time I was this close to dolphins I was at SeaWorld San Antonio, but I only got to feed them and don’t really remember the size they were. But these mammals were huge and so powerful! We got to sit and watch them do tricks and flips before we got to swim with them. Once it was our turn we decided how we wanted to swim with them; you could ride on top, they could flip over and you ride on their belly, or you had a choice to actually have them take you under water and swim with you. I chose the option to swim on their back which, in my opinion, was the best way to do it. The other two choices looked a little awkward or too short. Once we got done swimming with the dolphins, we waited for our pictures to be downloaded and got to take pictures with parrots! Luckily, some of the pictures turned out great and we ordered a few!

 Me getting kisses from the dolphin I got to swim with in Cabo, and my mom and I holding the parrots.

After the dolphins we headed back to the resort and sat on the beach with our delicious drinks in our hand. We noticed in front of us that they were doing massages on the beach, so we signed up for one the following morning. After the beach, we headed back to our room and got ready for dinner. This time we had reservations at their grill and steakhouse restaurant Mar de Cortes. We ordered a steak and a lobster, and it was  divine! After we walked around again and enjoyed the outdoors nightlife, we headed back to our room.

The next morning we went to our massages which were wonderful. There truly is nothing as wonderful as getting a massage on the beach and getting to hear the ocean currents hit the shore. It was also early enough to where there weren’t so many people out so it was nice and quiet. This day we headed into the downtown area of Cabo San Lucas. We were so excited about taking a water taxi to the downtown area because it was something we’ve never done or that we’ll ever do again! Not only was it a hassle to get onto the boat, but we had to wait 30 or so minutes for it to get there when we were told it would be there right away (I tend to get extremely impatient when I’m outside waiting and it’s hot). However once we got on the boat, it was a nice experience.

FullSizeRender (1) - Copy

                                A picture I took of the beach at one of the stops in our water taxi.

Once we got to the downtown area we walked around for a couple hours and stopped at different stores. It is amazing how many things they have there to sell! We each bought souvenirs to bring back to our friends and family, and then we headed to Cabo Wabo for a drink and appetizer, or what we thought would be a drink and appetizer. They ended up having a live band that was absolutely amazing, so we stayed for a couple hours while they performed! The 2 for 1 margaritas were a great deal too, so how could we pass that up?! After our little downtown escapade, we headed back to the hotel to get some more sun and rest up. That night we just ended up ordering room service and relaxing on the balcony watching the sun set and reading.

 An extra-dirty martini and the view from our resort, and the live band at Cabo Wabo along with our drinks.

The next morning we were sad to leave, but also happy to get back home to our loved ones. This was one of the best vacations my mom and I have ever been on! Not only did we get to share all these neat and wonderful experiences, but we also got to bond and make memories which I will cherish forever. The one thing that’ll I’ll always remember is just sitting on our balcony watching the beautiful sun set in the distance and laughing and reminiscing on everything. There is no one I’d rather spend with on a vacation like that than my mother. I am so blessed to have a loving mother who can take me to different parts of the world and make these memories and bonds that will stay with me forever.

IMG_6795[1]

                                                         A view of the sunset from our balcony.
Leave a Reply

