Cherishing the moments with family

Since moving to Iowa, I’ve been able to spend more time with my family that lives in Kansas City, Missouri. Instead of seeing them once a year, I now see them anywhere from 5-8 times a year since the drive is only five hours. This past weekend was one of those times. With my cousin graduating from Columbia College, my cousin’s wife getting her master’s and Mother’s Day on Sunday, this weekend was a special time with my family.

The five hour drive for me is nothing now that I drive it 5-8 times a year. Every time I go to visit my family it gets easier and easier. This time what made it easier though was that I downloaded podcasts to listen to, and from now on I will listen to them because it helps the time go by faster and I’m learning something new.

When I got down there I got in the shower and got ready for my mom’s pre-planning 50th reunion meeting. Here I got to meet all of her classmates that she graduated high school with and spend quality time with her. One may think that a 26-year-old hanging out with a bunch of 66-year-olds wouldn’t sound fun or entertaining, but it actually was. Her friends were so kind and outgoing. They made me laugh and I got to hear stories of their high school days and all the memories they made together.

The next day my cousin Hank had his graduation ceremony in Columbia, Missouri. I road down there with my grandma, uncle, aunt and mom. When we got there we met up with my other cousins and waited for the ceremony to start. Typically graduations are boring and long, but this graduation actually went by fast and the speakers had good stories to tell. After the ceremony we all went to Texas Roadhouse for lunch (yum-steak is my favorite!!) and then went back to the college to take pictures.

After we drove back we went back to my aunt’s house and hung out there. My cousin, his wife and I went to Chick fil La and got dinner for all of us. After we got dinner we just went back and talked and watched the Kansas City Royals. We were all so exhausted from the day we called it an early night. We had a long morning ahead of us.

When we all woke up we immediately started prepping for our Mother’s Day meal. We made ham, spicy corn casserole, scalloped potatoes, Red Lobster cheesy biscuits, deviled eggs and these amazing lettuce wraps! After everything was prepped my cousins and I went upstairs to watch the second Captain America. We didn’t get to finish it because the food was ready before it ended. We all went down and set the table and organized the food. I loved sitting down with my family laughing and talking and eating some delicious food! After the food coma we put ourselves into, we hung out downstairs and spent time together.

A few hours later, I headed back up to Iowa to get ready for the upcoming week.

Although it was for a short amount of time, I’m so lucky I got to spend time with my family. I enjoy every minute being with them because they make me laugh and make the time down there extremely enjoyable. I love that I get to spend more time with my family in Kansas City more than I ever have! My grandmother is 91, my aunt just beat breast cancer, my uncle is living a healthier lifestyle, all my cousins have graduated college (some have their master’s and working on their doctorates) and my mom is having the time of her life being retired. I’m so blessed to be apart of such a hard-working family who loves and cherishes each other- I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

