The love of a best friend

Moving away from a best friend is hard, but having that best friend move to the other side of the world is even harder. After being inseparable for years, it’s so hard to imagine the thought of not seeing them for possible years. However, in the end you know that no matter where you left off, you will always pick up at the same place.

tay4
Taylor and I at her second apartment, when she attended the University of North Texas.

Taylor and I have been best friends for 20 years. We have done everything together from playing sports to going on 20+ hour road trips. On Sept. 19 she will be moving to the northern part of Thailand with her boyfriend, Jordan. While I am so excited for her, there is a piece of me that I know will be missing. Fortunately for us, with technology being so advanced nowadays, we will be able to Facetime and message each other nonstop and stay in constant communication.

tay6
A collage I made for Taylor on her birthday. Pictures are from elementary school to now.

I will always cherish the memories we’ve had together and look forward for more to come when she returns to the states. I remember on the same night my first cat passed away, she was having problems with her boyfriend. She drove 35 minutes to my house, brought over Taco Cabana, and we sat there crying to each other and confining in each other and talking the night away. While we were so distraught that night, we both look back at it and laugh about how silly it sounds, however, both know that in hard times we are always there for each other.

tay5
On the airplane to our first trip, of many, we took to Las Vegas.

Although things haven’t always been golden, we got through tough times and came out on the other side.I love her family and think of them as one of my own, and I know she feels the same way about mine. She is one of the smartest people I know, as well as one of the strongest. I love her wanderlust and her passion for traveling.

About two years ago she embarked on a three-month adventure in Europe. She packed a bag and left and stayed at all sorts of hostels, met new friends, and traveled to countries she had never been to. For someone to do that takes so much courage and strength. There is no one else that I know who would have the guts to do something like that. Hell, I find myself sociable and independent and couldn’t even imagine lasting that long away from family and friends.

tay2
In the backyard of a friend’s house in Iowa. Taylor came up for the 4th of July weekend.

But more than anything, I love her loyalty and honesty to me as a best friend. Even through my darkest times, she has always been there for me. I know that if I ever need anything, she would drop everything to be there for me and talk me through anything. I know that she is someone that will be with me for the rest of my life and will always have my back. To me, that is what a best friend is, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

