Big Grove has big taste

I’ve been to many restaurants around the Cedar Rapids area, but none of them have quite stuck out like Big Grove Brewery in Solon. Only about a 25 minute drive away from Cedar Rapids, it’s a guaranteed good time.

This weekend, my girlfriends and I went out to Big Grove to get some food and drinks. I absolutely love Big Grove’s atmosphere! It’s got a modern, country feel to it and their patio is awesome! Unfortunately it was pretty packed, so we didn’t get a seat outside.

Typically when I go, I like to try one of their beers, but this time I was feeling a Moscow Mule, which at Big Grove they call “The Mule.” Typically Moscow Mules are made with vodka, but there they make it with a whiskey, and that’s mixed with ginger beer and fresh-squeezed lime and orange juice. It’s amazing!

The Mule at Big Grove Brewery. I would recommend this drink to anyone!

After we ordered our drinks, we decided to split some pretzel bites that’s served with beer cheese and a homemade mustard that has a hint of horseradish in it. While the beer cheese could’ve been a little thicker, their pretzels were phenomenal! Typically when I go I always get their Korean BBQ wings (seriously the BEST wings I’ve ever had). However, we decided to venture out with the pretzels, but their wings is one of the reasons why I got hooked on them so much. They’re huge, full of wonderful flavor, and have the perfect amount of spice!

After we looked over the menu we decided to split one of their pizzas, roasted mushroom to be exact. It was awesome!! It had so much flavor for such simple ingredients: locally grown mushrooms, garlic confit, fontina cheese, and arugula. On top of that the crust was crisp and had a wonderful wood-fire taste to it. Let’s just say it won’t be the last time I get that pizza! I would definitely recommend that you split it though because it’s pretty big.

After we ate our pizza we sat around and chatted some more. But for anyone looking to go somewhere different than places around Cedar Rapids, this is the first place I would recommend. With everything freshly made, and on top of that made from scratch, there’s no way you can go wrong!

Me, Brittany, and Caitlin after we got done having dinner and drinks at Big Grove.
Leave a Reply

