Texas born, Midwest blood

One of the first things people ask me when I say I’m from Texas is, “Why Iowa?!” They think I’m crazy for moving here and wonder why in the heck I love snow so much. For one, both of my parents are from the Midwest, so I think that’s where my love of it comes from and why I don’t mind the cold.

Maybe it’s because we don’t get as much snow down in Texas- it’s more ice down there- but this weekend was wonderful because I got to see the beautiful snow fall. I also can say that I don’t mind the cold. Maybe it’s because my mom and dad are from the Midwest and naturally I am drawn into it. This reminds me of one of the reasons why I love Iowa so much- there’s actually seasons here.

A picture I took in the fall of all the beautiful leaves that had fallen.
A screenshot of a Snapchat I posted. I tried to get my cat to play in the snow- she wasn’t having it.

During the winter I get to see snow, during the spring I get to see everything blossom, during the summer I get to see the beautiful green fields filled with corn and soy beans, and in the fall I get to see the absolutely astonishing colors of the leaves change. This isn’t something you see in Texas. One day it’s 110 degrees out and the next it’s freezing. The weather seems to be a little more bipolar there.

Another reason I love Iowa so much is because the people here are truly friendly. Almost everywhere you go someone gives you a friendly smile or is willing to help you out. All my friends that I have met here have always had my back, and I know they would be there for me in a heartbeat.

One of my best friends, Austin, and me.
Some good friends and I out for a night on the town in downtown Cedar Rapids.
My good girlfriends Brittany and Caitlin whom I met through volleyball.

So whether it be the seasons or the people that draws me into Iowa, I can tell you one thing, I absolutely love it. Maybe the Midwest blood that runs through me also has something to do with it. I’m not sure where my next adventure will be, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it was somewhere in the Midwest.

Leave a Reply

